Legislative Proceedings – June 2, 2014

Monday marked the start of the 74th session of the Cornhusker Boys’ State Unicameral. The proceedings centered around electing leadership. Candidates were given an opportunity to speak to the senators and answer questions before voting. The following senators were elected to leadership:

[ezcol_1half]Vishwanath Ganesan, Bataan, Speaker[/ezcol_1half] [ezcol_1half_end]Chris Jurich, Gettysburg, Clerk[/ezcol_1half_end]
[ezcol_1half]V. Ganera[/ezcol_1half] [ezcol_1half_end]Chris Juriek[/ezcol_1half_end][ezcol_1half]Gus Mattern, Bataan, Sergeant at Arms[/ezcol_1half] [ezcol_1half_end]Austin Stone, Bunker Hill, Chaplain[/ezcol_1half_end]
[ezcol_1half]Gus Mattern[/ezcol_1half] [ezcol_1half_end]Austin Stone[/ezcol_1half_end]


Sen. Amanda McGill Explains Nebraska’s Unique Legislative Structure

District 26 State Senator Amanda McGill explained the Nebraska Unicameral to the Boys’ State Legislature Monday morning, prior to the first legislative session. She detailed how Nebraska’s system is unique because legislature is non-partisan. McGill, an Omaha native, has spent the last 8 years as a representative for the Northeast Lincoln District. She informed the Boys’ State Representative’s she was only a few years older than they are now when she first ran, and was elected to her Unicameral seat.

She currently serves as the Chairperson on the Urban Affairs Committee, serves on the Judicial Committee and is running for Nebraska State Auditor.

Sen. McGill addresses the Boys’ State Unicameral