Senators Break out into Committees

The second session of the Legislature involved many heated debates in order to priorities the most pressing issues by each committee. Committee Chairmen were elected to head each of the five committees and the Committee Secretary was in charge of reading aloud each bill on the table and amending any necessary changes to the bill if the committee chose to do so. Each committee had the responsibility of prioritizing their top three bills to move on to General File, where debate will take place regarding all of the priority bills.

Senator Nick Koehler is deep in discussion with his Committee regarding a bill to enhance the state education platform.

The second session ended by moving in to General File and debating our first two bills. Our Legislative session has the privilege of having 2016 Boys Nation Vice President, Choteau Kammel, to assist in showing our current Boys Staters the proper way each bill will be debated. There were some very heated debates and opinions expressed in our first two, but ultimately both of those bills were turned down, and for the time being, tabled indefinitely.

Senator Peter Owens debates the Internet Sales Tax bill in which he authored.

Our Senators are very excited to spend an entire afternoon debating the rest of the priority bills in General File at this time!




Opening Legislative Session

The 77th Cornhusker Boys’ State Legislative session opened up with a very informative and productive session featuring Senator Kate Bolz. This is her 3rd straight appearance discussing many pointers, mainly how a bill is drafted and worked through all the way in to legislation. She also discussed some very interesting topics, including her route to becoming a politician, and gave some pointers on how to compromise with Senators whom have differing views.

Senator Kate Bolz of the 29th Legislative District


Our second session of the day included electing our Legislative Leadership; the Speaker of the House, Clerk, Sergeant at Arms, and Chaplain. We had many individuals who expressed interest, shared experience, and demonstrated their passion and backgrounds to get them elected. Those getting elected include:

Speaker of the House:  Leon Linhart      Gettysburg
Clerk:                               Blake Riley        Belleau Wood
Sergeant at Arms:        Kevin Downs     Belleau Wood
Chaplin:                          Max Nemec        Manilla Bay

Speaker of the House: Leon Linhart, Gettysburg

We ended our second session of the first day by breaking in to committees, where we will resume our next session at. Senators have over 100 bills to sort through and coordinate with the correct committee in order to get our top 3 priority bills per each committee.

Below is a roster of our 2017 Senators for the 77th Legislative Session of Cornhusker Boys State.

Bunker Hill:   Luke Peter, Jaden Feeney, Vasili Sgourakis, Garrett Savick, Brette Petersen, Bryce McClaren

Valley Forge:  Gregory Kipp, Ambrose Bykerk, Jacob French, Nathan Weidner, Ryan Chapman, Ryan Kisker

Yorktown: Kade Wehrs, Grant Moody, Oliver Borchers-Williams, Max Hansen, Colton Thompson, Brent Lucke

Gettysburg:  Thomas McFarland, Jose Vazquez, Jake Sykora, Leon Linhart, Michael McClellen, Daniel Fu

Alamo:  Nicholas Koehler, William Stout, Alexander Porter, Samuel Johnson, Grant Hallstrom, Isaac Stallbaumer

Manila Bay: Kaleb Kindler, Max Nemec, Ross Adkins, Joel Moeller, Wesley Wach, Caleb Sudbeck

Bataan: Peter Owens, Noah Anderson, Noah Keck, Colby Sluka, Ethan Carlson, Riley Mrvicka, Shane Feller

Belleau Wood:  Jack Kohl, Kevin Downs, Logan Greenlee, Blake Riley, Galdino Guzman, Ehric Strope