Gubernatorial Candidates Debate in Kimball

After the address by Mr. Buffet, Gubernatorial candidates Lucas Fricke (Federalist) and Christian Mapes (Nationalist) faced-off in formal debate. While the delegates  held very similar positions on several issues, when the debate came to topics such as education, abortion, and the death penalty, there were clear divisions between the candidate’s beliefs. Both Lucas and Christian proved that they are excellent candidates for Governor. Best of luck, gentlemen!

Candidate Lucas Fricke of Valley Forge.

Candidate Christian Mapes from the Alamo.

Delegates ask the candidates questions.

Delegates ask the Candidates questions.

A Bunker Hill resident asks the candidates a question.

Winners of Gubernatorial Primary Square Off in Townhall Debate

Earlier today, Cornhusker Boys’ State delegates voted in the gubernatorial primary, from which Nationalist candidate Christian Mapes of Valley Forge and Federalist candidate Lukas Fricke of Alamo emerged victorious. This evening, these two candidates participated in a small townhall debate, which precedes the debate that will take place in front of the entire delegation tomorrow morning in Kimball Hall. Among the issues debated were agricultural subsidies, education, gay marriage, universal healthcare, imminent domain, and Second Amendment rights. Special thanks to our newspaper staff and multimedia staff for streaming coverage of the debate live for all towns in Cornhusker Boys’ State to watch. If you would like to review video footage from the debate, CLICK HERE! The debate begins approximately eight minutes into the video footage.

Judicial Appointments Made by Governor Schreiner

Chief Justice – Hans Hansen

Associate Justices of Washington County – Benjamin Jensen, Ryan Sousek, Nicholas Wulf

Associate Justice of Lincoln County – Jim Foley, Brendon Henning, J. Henry O’Neal

District Judges of Washington County – Taliesin Harrison, Nate Williamson

District Judges of Lincoln County – Aaron James Colwell, Richard Wright Jr.

General Election Results for State and County Offices


Lieutenant Governor – Doug Larsen

Secretary of State – Audel Salazar

State Treasurer – Misael Azpeitia

State Auditor – Spencer Morris

Attorney General – Koby Daniel Archuletta

Public Service Commissioners – Chris Lambrecht, Alec McCurdy, Jon Burr, Gabe Collins, Austin Pierce


County Sheriff – Blake Bunner

County Attorney – Paul Downey

County Clerk – Austin Heineman

Clerks of the District Court – John Foster, Justin Stagemeyer

County Treasurer – Ethan Hanson

State Board of Education – Nick Clayburn, Michael Echtenkamp, Josh Mooney

County Judge – Brian Vodvarka

County Superintendent of Public Instruction – Grant Beckman

Public Defender – William Justice Hastings


County Sheriff – Colton Hoover

County Attorney – Devin Schroeder

County Clerk – Andrew Pierce

Clerk of the District Court – Joshua Webb, Stuart Fritz

County Treasurer – Alex Hinton

State Board of Education – Grant Kros, Jacob McGinley, Ben Shelbourn

County Judge – John Pritchard

County Superintendent of Public Instruction – Blake Due

Public Defender – Texan Tonjee

Primary Election Results Posted

The Ballots have been counted in the 2011 Boys’ State General Election for State/County Offices. Here are the results:

2011 Cornhusker Boys’ State

Results of Primary Election

State Ticket

Lieutenant Governor:

Nationalist: Jacob Jarecki

Federalist: Doug Larson

Secretary of State:

Nationalist: Glen Ready

Federalist: Audel Salazar

State Treasurer:

Nationalist: Aaron Kroll

Federalist: Misael Azpeitia

State Auditor:

Nationalist: Erich Vogel

Federalist: Spencer Morris

Attorney General:

Nationalist: A.J. Farrand

Federalist: Koby Daniel Archuletta

Public Service Commissioners

Nationalists: Beau Ballard, Taylor Boldt, Christ Lambrecht, Alec McCurdy, Tyler Moes

Federalists: Jon Burr, Gabe Collins, Dustin Hahn, Luke Loecker, Austin Pierce

County Ticket:

Washington County:

County Sheriff:

Nationalist: Kirby Mendyk

Federalist: Blake Bunner

County Attorney:

Nationalist: Eli Van Boening

Federalist: Paul Downey

County Clerk:

Nationalist: D.J. Hinman

Federalist: Austin Heineman

Clerk of the District Court:

Nationalists: John Foster, Justin Stagemeyer

Federalists: None


Members of the State Board of Education:

Kyle Boyle, Nick Clayburn, Michael Echtenkamp, Josh Mooney, Barrett Pieper, Kaleb Simmerman

County Judges:

Michael Hollman, Brian Vodvarka

County Superintendent of Public Instruction:

Grant Beckman, Spencer Sydow

Public Defender:

William Justice Hastings, Robert A. Hoy

Lincoln County:

County Sheriff:

Nationalist: Colton Hoover

Federalist: Michael Brune

County Attorney:

Nationalist: Dakota Pariset

Federalist: Devin Shroeder

County Clerk:

Nationalist: Andrew Pierce

Federalist: Kalen Farr

Clerk of the District Court:

Nationalists: Connor Bloedorn, Joshua

Federalist: Stuart Fritz

County Treasurer:

Nationalist: Jordan Stoler

Federalist: Alex Hinton


Members of the State Board of Education:

Grant Kros, Jacob McGinley, Ben Shelbourn

County Judge:

Anton Olbricht, John Pritchard

County Superintendent of Public Instruction:

Blake Due, Andrew Wilshusen

Public Defender:

Dalton Gabel, Texan Tonjee

A hearty congratulations to all of this afternoon’s winners!